WoW books in order.

We often get asked which order you should read the lore books in, so here is a list taken from here –


1. Rise of the Horde

2. The Last Guardian

3. Tides of Darkness  

4. Beyond the Dark Portal

5. Day of the Dragon

6. Of Blood and Honor

7. Lord of the Clans

8. Arthas

9. The Well of Eternity

10. The Demon Soul

11. The Sundering

12. Cycle of Hatred

13. Night of the Dragon

14. Stormrage

15. The Shattering

16. Wolfheart

17. Thrall: TotA

18. Tides of War

19. Dawn of the Aspects

20. Vol’Jin: Shadows of the Horde

21: War Crimes

22: Illidan

23. Warcraft – Durotan

24. Warcraft – The Beginning

however, you could also do this –

In that follows I’ll outline a few ways to order your reading of the Warcraft novels. The first order is in which they were published. Nothing fancy or arbitrary here just a simple calendar. So, in this system you would start with Of Blood and Honor and finish with Vol’Jin: Shadows of the Horde.

Title Date

1. Of Blood and Honor December 2000

2. Day of the Dragon February 2001

3. Lord of the Clans October 2001

4. The Last Guardian December 2001War of the Ancients Trilogy

5. The Well of Eternity March 2004

6. The Demon Soul October 2004

7. The Sundering July 2005

8. Cycle of Hatred January 2006

9. Rise of the Horde December 2006

10. Tides of Darkness August 2007

11. Beyond the Dark Portal June 2008

12. Night of the Dragon November 2008

13. Arthas: Rise of the Lich King May 2009

14. Stormrage February 2010

15. The Shattering: Prelude to Cataclysm October 2010

16. Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects July 2011

17. Woflheart September 2011

18. Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War August 2012

19. Dawn of the Aspects February-June 2013

20. Vol’Jin: Shadows of the Horde July 2013

21. War Crimes – May 2014

22: Illidan – April 2016

23. Warcraft – Durotan May 2016

24. Warcraft – The Beginning May 2016

The second way to read the books is by the order in which they happen within the Warcraft Universe. In this series, you would start with the events of the War of the Ancients Trilogy and make your way through to Vol’Jin: Shadows of the Horde. Now there is a subjective element to this list because three of the characters in the War of the Ancients are time travelers and if you are looking at the story from their timeline, the War of the Ancients would be read much later. It’s really up to the reader, but I’ll put both lists here. Believe it or not I would suggest the first list with time travel but its up to you fair reader. Consider the differences this way. The “without time travel” order is like trying to read The Silmarillion before The Hobbit. It can be done but puts a greater burden on the reader.

With time travel     Without time travel

1. Rise of the Horde 1. Dawn of the Aspects

2. The Last Guardian 2. The Well of Eternity

3. Tides of Darkness 3. The Demon Soul

4. Beyond the Dark Portal 4. The Sundering

5. Day of the Dragon 5. Rise of the Horde

6. Of Blood and Honor 6. The Last Guardian

7. Lord of the Clans 7. Tides of Darkness

8. Arthas* 8. Beyond the Dark Portal

9. The Well of Eternity 9. Day of the Dragon

10. The Demon Soul 10. Of Blood and Honor

11. The Sundering 11. Lord of the Clans

12. Cycle of Hatred 12. Arthas*

13. Night of the Dragon 13. Cycle of Hatred

14. Stormrage 14. Night of the Dragon

15. The Shattering 15. Stormrage

16. Wolfheart 16. The Shattering

17. Thrall: TotA 17. Wolfheart

18. Tides of War 18. Thrall: TotA

19. Dawn of the Aspects 19. Tides of War

20. Vol’Jin 20. Vol’Jin

21. War Crimes 21. War Crimes

22: Illidan

23. Warcraft – Durotan

24. Warcraft – The Beginning

*The events of Arthas: Raise of the Lich King take place between the start of the Second War to Arthas becoming the Lich King. With a few scenes which are taking place at the beginning of Wrath of the Lich King Expansion. However the book core is a novelization of much of Warcraft 3 and its expansion, so I’ve chosen to put it there in the timeline.


One thought on “WoW books in order.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s